Of Mice and Men
on
1.12.04 @ 7:13 p.m.

I am in love with Of Mice and Men. It's gonig to haunt me for days. Too bad I found out the entire ending before I read it, but I don't think it made that much of a difference. FOR THOSE OF YOU THAT DO NOT WANT TO KNOW THE ENDING DO NOT SCROLL ANY FURTHER.

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

I love George. I love him for the sacrifice he took. I heard someone say they hated him because he killed Lennie. Because he shot him in the back of his head.

Don't they understand?

Of course there is no excuse for murder, but just this once, God forgive me, I think he did the best he could.

The one person on earth that George cared about, his one source of happiness. George destroyed his own happiness. Just so Lennie wouldn't have to face the pain and cruelty that was sure to come. Just so Lennie could die and be with the rabbits. And now George has to live with the guilt haunting him forever. Even though he did do what he thought was right... it's only another turn of the screw. Reminds me of Amadeus in a way. Not quite sure why. I see some sort of a parallel between George and Salieri.

Lennie's the lucky one.

?last | next ?