Let's just be friends
on
2010-04-02 @ 8:22 a.m.

As we were standing there, squeezed into the short side of the balcony, the leather of our elbows touching, you said Let's just be friends after a long silence. During the silence I knew you could only say one thing or the other, and you said what I didn't want to hear. I looked away, shifting my eyes to the right, away from the lake we were staring at. Feeling the gaping hole in my heart that didn't result from a slow expansion but a punch. I said Didn't we already establish that? knowing full well it had never been this final, and this time it is really done for, and there is no hope for the future. I tried to fill the silence, and I blabbered things I didn't care about, and you did the same. I'm scared there will be a foreignness, a distance between us from now on, that we will always be trying to fill the silence, not saying the things we really want to say. In the past three months, we have learned so much about each other, and I hope about ourselves, and isn't this what college is all about?

?last | next ?