leaving china
on
2011-07-29 @ 10:01 p.m.

My trip to China is coming to a close--I have a week left in Wuhan before heading off to Shanghai. To be completely honest, it's kind of a relief. Being here is some kind of a filial duty for me. Unless there is someone to accompany me, I'm not allowed to leave the house. I know it seems ridiculous that two old octogenarians could keep a young person such as myself indoors, but I'm obedient. They're old, and I love them, and I don't want to disobey them. While I'm here I want to make them as happy and as satisfied as I possibly can, so that this trip will be worthwhile and perfect to them.

Leaving I have lots of mixed emotions. Relief but also sadness because I know it might be the last time I can spend such an extended periof of time with them. Because they're so wonderful and have raised me with so much heart. I know here that unconditional love exists. The plight of immigrants. When I grow older and have a family of my own, I'll keep them close.

?last | next ?